We no longer use this blog! Please visit sakistore.net for our blog, online store, and more!

Tuesday, September 4

Vinnie the Intern #13: A Playlist for the Fall

In the middle of summer I pieced together a playlist of how to stay cool. Sadly the final days of summer are rapidly approaching. The grandiose sounds of summer will be traded for sparse, brittle sounds of fall such as leaves crunching and blowing in the wind. This playlist should complement that well. 

From Stereolab and Royksopp's thumping and chiming that beg to be played at a backyard get together to the downright dreary and unsettling "Sad Pony Guerilla Girl" (most notably in the Life and Live version 2:55 and on), this playlist should take you through the end of summer and get you ready for the harsh winter that will be here before we know it.  
King Krule - Rock Bottom/Octopus - Single (9/24/2012)

Note that the track, Zoo Kid's "Rock Bottom," is an early version of the song by the young man now known as King Krule. Check out the new version here. A song that builds, finds its clarity in its climax with repeating the final lines from "Empty Cans" by the Streets off of his album A Grand Don't Come For Free.

"It is the end of something I did not want to end. The beginning of hard times to come.
But something that was not meant to be is done. And this is the start of what was."

Additional Details:
1. Stereolab - "Brakhage" - Dots & Loops 
2. Royksopp - "Poor Leno" - Melody A.M.
3. Netherfriends - "Don't Invite Me" - Calling You Out
4. WHY? - "The Hoofs" - Elephant Eyelash
5. Atlas Sound - "Autumn Intro Cascading Into University Courtyard" - Bedroom Databank Vol. 2
6. Zoo Kid - "Rock Bottom" - U.F.O.W.A.V.E.
7. Sharks Keep Moving - "Cashmere, Washington" - Desert Strings And Drifters
8. Deerhunter - "Basement" - Turn It Up, Faggot
9. Xiu Xiu - "Sad Pony Guerilla Girl (Live)" - Life and Live
10. Misfits - "Halloween" - Legacy of Brutality
11. Gorillaz - "November Has Come" - Demon Days
12. The Sky Corvair - "Swallow Water" - Unsafe At Any Speed
13. Mount Eerie - "November 22 2003, 4:45 PM" - Seven New Songs of Mount Eerie
14. Atlas Sound - "Winter Vacation" - Let the Blind Lead Those Who Can See But Cannot Feel
15. Sufjan Stevens - "The Winter Solstice" - Peace: Songs for Christmas, Vol. V

No comments:

Post a Comment

Be nice!